Home » Immy-mummy stories » London Stories of the South

London Stories of the South

It’s the title of my new book, which is the collection of my London stories. Obviously.

‘The South’ translates here as in ‘by a South European’. Or: ‘The South-nuanced London stories’. Translations translations.

Fortunately, the title is gripping and completely understandable in all my mothertongues: Montenegrin, Croatian, Serbian & Bosnian.

And I wrote the stories in my first languages.

One day, maybe, it will appear in this tough Anglo-Saxon market; tough because these days an unknown & translated author has to either be a runaway from a huge troubled market (country); or incredibly lucky, wealthy yet free, all over the place and web, an interesting,  young male – to even hope to be published here. But in 10-15 years…When children have grown up and moved out…Watch this space. Or not. But I will still be writing; writing much more in fact.

Anyway, this book is about all things London-related. How I arrived here, froze my butt and bones in my summery dress because it was 7 degrees in June. Now of course I know it’s the normal June temperature.

I wrote about Londoners and me. How I learned to tone down; and when I did they told me they loved my outrageousness.

I wrote about nostalgia, the plus and minuses of it; about how it moves in her mysterious ways and how I learned to switch that companion on or off.

I also wrote about the days when I was a couch potato; then, some exhibitions, some theatre.

I wrote when I was in Love with London; I wrote when I wanted to strangle it (him?); I wrote when we’d break up and come back together again, more passionately than ever.

This book can have huge audience. For any curious 15-100-year-old reader. Especially if, for now, she reads Monte, Cro, Serbo or Bosnian.

I love so many things about this book. I should have it translated, at least into English, I think.

I love the cover.

And the stories between the covers – well, ‘When you don’t know what to write, write one honest sentence,’ apparently Hemingway said this. Well, it defines my London stories.

Image

Leave a Reply

